Category: We Own This City

2021 Aug 22

David Corenswet Joins HBO Limited Series “We Own This City”

Deadline.comEXCLUSIVE: Dagmara Domińczyk (Succession) and Don Harvey (The Deuce) are set as series regulars in We Own This City,HBO’s upcoming limited series from The Wire’s executive producers David Simon and George Pelecanos. Also cast in recurring/guest star roles are Delaney Williams (Law & Order: SVU), David Corenswet (The Politician), Ian Duff (The Republic of Sarah), Lucas Van Engen (City on a Hill), Gabrielle Carteris(BH 90210), Treat Williams (Everwood) and The Wire alum Domenick Lombardozzi. They join previously announced cast Jon Bernthal, Josh Charles, Jamie Hector, Rob Brown, McKinley Belcher III, Larry Mitchell and Wunmi Mosaku.

The six-hour limited series, to be directed and executive produced by Reinaldo Marcus Green, is based on The Baltimore Sun reporter Justin Fenton’s book We Own This City: A True Story of Crime, Cops and Corruption. The series will chronicle the rise and fall of the Baltimore Police Department’s Gun Trace Task Force and the corruption and moral collapse that befell an American city in which the policies of drug prohibition and mass arrest were championed at the expense of actual police work.

Corenswet will play David McDougall, a veteran investigator with the Harford County Narcotics Task Force. McDougall and Detective Scott Kilpatrick, his colleague in neighboring Baltimore County’s Narcotics Unit, began the casework on drug overdoses that set the GTTF probe in motion.